• Mavericks
  • Awards
  • 2023
  • Judges
Please Wait
MavericksAwardsJudges -
The Mavericks Awards judges are some of the most noteworthy names in the big wave surf community, they analyze and score the most daring Mavericks rides from the season

Jeff Clark

Mavericks Pioneer

One of the most noteworthy big-wave surfers, famous for surfing Mavericks alone for 15 years before it was widely discovered by the big-wave surfing community.

Jeff Clark
Maya Gabiera

Maya Gabeira

World record holder for largest wave surfed by a female

Most known for having surfed a 73.5 ft / 22,4 m high wave in Nazare, Portugal, 2020. Recorded by Guinness World Records as the biggest wave ever surfed by a female - It was also the bigget wave surfed by anyone that year.

Darryl "Flea" Virostko

Three Time Mavericks Contest Winner

A professional "big-wave" surfer from Santa Cruz, California. He is a 3-time Maverick's competition winner. Virostko appears as himself in the surfing films Riding Giants, Step Into Liquid, and Billabong Odyssey.

Darryl Virostko
Chris Bertish

Chris Bertish

Mavericks Invitational Champion

South African, born surfer, first to paddle out and surf Jaws, Mavericks and Toto Santos on the same swell. Winner of the 2010 mavericks surf contest. Stand up paddled across the Atlantic Ocean unassisted.

Home Page
Mavericks Awards